What kind of workloads does this intel security bug effect

EzTech

I heard that processing performance can be reduced by 35% for certain workloads, but I do t know specifically what it effects. (Sorry I'm a bit of a noob at this)

It affects mostly workloads that use a lot of IOPS, so stuff like databases. 

On the desktop it doesn't really affect much. 

idk

I'd assume that the 30% remark was towards server loads which take up all the resources that a CPU can give it.

From what I understand, gaming performance may go down (a bit) but nowhere near as much as the server tasks.

As a disclaimer - I'm not too deep into CPUs. If somebody sees that I have said something wrong - please correct it.

Fan Comparisons          F@H          PCPartPicker         Analysis of Market Trends (Coming soon? Never? Who knows!)

Designing a mITX case. Working on aluminum prototypes.

Open for intern / part-time. Good at maths, CAD and airflow stuff. Dabbled with Python.

Please fill out this form! It helps a ton! https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/841400-the-poll-to-end-all-polls-poll/

Thanks for the replys. Also, will these cpus ever return to their original performance?

This entire 'Meltdown and Spectre' is really Frustrating. Imagine those who literally just bought an 8700k only to realise that they will be loosing 5% on its performance. 

The only way to combat this issue, is to overclock. That way, atleast you would be gaining performance, even if its not as much before the kernel patch.

5 hours ago, EzTech said:

Thanks for the replys. Also, will these cpus ever return to their original performance?

Not if you want to keep them secure.

You have two options, and it will remain that way forever (for the current processors):

1) Don't apply the patch. This means you keep the original performance, but you're vulnerable to attacks.

2) You apply the patch and lose some performance.

Future CPUs will most likely have these issues fixed.

6 hours ago, JustAStrangeGeek said: