1. Budget & Location

~£1000 UK

2. Aim

Main purpose is 1080p gaming, but will also be used for running multiple VMs (low performance - for security testing). A small form factor portable PC best suites my needs currently, and I'd love this system to last me another 8 years at least (maybe too much to ask...). Gaming is Fallout 4, CS:GO, Project Cars, PUBG etc. with the possibility of some streaming.

3. Monitors

1x 1080p 60Hz monitor.

4. Peripherals

I have a monitor, mouse, keyboard and 2.5" hdd lying about somewhere. Student license for Windows 10 Pro or I'll use Linux.

5. Why are you upgrading?

8yo Intel HD Laptop - light gaming at 10fps is not very enjoyable.

First build! I'm a Computer Science student with a passion for tech who has survived on Intel HD for too long (previously GeForce3 Ti 200). Looking to build a console killer for casual gaming and handling the heavier workloads of my uni course, while using my trusty Thinkpad for programming and day to day things. Aiming for a Ryzen 5/GTX1070 build in a Fractal Node 202 and have put together a PC Part Picker list.

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/bMDfKZ

I'm having issues picking a GPU as I want to maximize my performance within my (loose) budget and would be interested in overclocking but it seems like in this case the GPU fans face the case fans so I'd like a card with cooling that can handle this arrangement while having good performance. Alternatively I could run a large card (eg Palit SuperJet) with good cooling and no case fans. Is there actually much performance benefit to a larger card with higher clock speed over a lightweight looking card such as the Gigabyte Mini ITX series or is it all cooling and overclock speeds? Help needed!!

I think I could do with advice on the CPU cooler and PSU as I've heard mixed opinions online. I think my motherboard is good as well but I'm open to other ideas.

Cheers and happy new year everyone!!

For an extra tenner you can get a 1070 ti with a great cooler.