would there be a market for high end custom desks in the gaming secotor?

ridfer

Hello,

I am an aspiring furniture designer/carpenter. I've followed a study for this for 3 years but i dropped out cuz of personal problems. In this time though i designed and built the desk below, which i will use as an example.

Now i'm just wondering what kinda work i should do for the rest of my life, looking like i'm going into the pc service business.

However every time i show a picture of my desk/setup to people they all say i should do that for a job.

So i was thinking i could check here if there is any interest in it.

Now i would have no idea how expensive a desk like this is gonna be but you can expect above €2500 - 3000. the price really depends on the furniture maker who builds it. if i'm gonna do this i won't be making them, mainly because of transport reasons. Instead i will search for a furniture maker in the area of the customer and let it be build there. (if i where to do all myself i would ask around 2000 for it)

It would be really awesome if i could make a living designing premium custom gaming desks (so this means every desk will be customly designed and custom made)

And with all the cheap ikea desks i see with the 8000 dollar systems on top of it ... i feel like there is a market for it. i kinda find it suprising how it is not yet a thing? 

767601feb8.jpg

f632ee_aa3d71e2747f431792fdcce986d6a54a.

There was another guy on here a long time ago with a similar idea, basically had really beautiful, fancy hand crafted wooden desks.  I think there would be a market but it would be extremely small.  The majority of gamers are young and don't have much money, and what they have they usually sink into performance components, not looks.  Even older people with money to spend on this are gonna have so many other products competing for their cash that this won't sell to the majority.