How effecient are consumer solar panels today?

Inkz

One of the Tech News topics got me curious about this. I know about 9 years ago I heard things about the  improving percentage of efficiency. Also for home installations do you need to have a large house battery to store it? Are there good, affordable options now? Thank you guys, I have little experience in this field.

The size of your system will change based on where you live and obviously how much power you use. For my area (Michigan) an average household using 1000kwh per month (nat. average is ~900) will need a system capable of providing something like 15kwh per day. A system like this costs ~45-50k USD before the tax breaks you get for them. Yes you need a wall mounted battery system that is scaled for your system as well. 

Edit: This is for a 100% grid independent system and its very possible to get a smaller one to just supplement your usage

CPU: I5 4590 Motherboard: ASROCK H97 Pro4 Ram: XPG 16gb v2.0 4x4 kit  GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 PSU: EVGA 550w Supernova G2 Storage: 128 gb Sandisk SSD + 525gb Mx300 SSD Cooling: Be Quiet! Shadow Rock LP Case: Zalman T2 Sound: Logitech Z506 5.1 Mouse: Razer Deathadder Chroma Keyboard: DBPower LED

s-l225.jpg

I purchased this about a month ago, each panel produces about 25 watts.

About a year or two before that, there was a kit that had panels that produced about 15 watts.

The efficiency is still going up at a decent rate.

Depending on where you live, any who your energy provider is, you may have the option to just sell all of the power you produce directly to the power company offsetting your bill, and removing the need for a battery.