Help me live with my horrid bandwidth cap!

DrSpychology

So the title says it all, as a student, I get 25 GB of download a month and a measly 2.5 GB of upload a month. It's been horrible living with it, but I have to live with it, so help me.

I've already started by downloading bigger files that I need at home, things like programs I need for my studies, but I still see the counter go down fast, I have to download presentations to know what I have to do, and these aren't small presentations, they go up to 100+ mb, and I need to download a lot. Another thing I've done to reduce my downloads, is install a chrome plugin that automatically sets youtube quality to 240p.

For uploads, I'm stuck, it was always on 100%, but now that I've started using video chat, it shrinks 10% every hour that I use it. If I were to use it freely, it would be depleted within a week. I use google hangouts for chat, but there I can't see anything that lets me lower the video quality. My webcam is 720p, but I'm guessing the video would still look fine if it would be sent in 360p or something, and would give me more time to chat. 

I'm so mad at my ISP, I see my bandwidth limits ticking down slowly, and I don't want to be stuck without internet, because it would ruin my ability to study and to keep in touch with everyone who's not next to me. It's terrible coming from home, where I have a bandwidth cap that's high enough that I never have to worry about it, even streaming HD video and downloading tons of games, and no upload cap.

EDIT: Oh, I forgot, no wifi, only ethernet, you need to log in every time you want to use the internet, and the log in system frequently freaks out.  

Dude that sucks. Is a limit set in the dorms or are you paying for internet an the ISP is limiting you.