Vehicle Advice, Car Guys Help!

Votivee

Has anyone made the switch from an SUV to a car?

My dilemma is that there's a 2010 Subaru Impreza WRX Limited Hatchback for sale in my area for an awesome price, has far less miles than my current vehicle, and I've wanted to own one for a few years now. I could easily afford it if I sold my current vehicle, but I feel like I may regret the switch from an SUV to a smaller vehicle.

I'd like to know what the community's opinion is on my situation and switching from a SUV to a car, and I'll post some things to consider below.

Currently I drive a 2005 V8 Jeep Grand Cherokee in OK condition.

Some things to consider:

• I'm a college student and move around quite a bit of my belongings around every couple of months
  • I live in an area that gets LOTS of snow, and our winters last from late November to mid April, and 300+ inches of snow is an average winter for us
  • I do lots of winter driving as I'm an avid snowboarder and also a snowboard instructor
  • I drive in many very bad snowstorms as it's literally my job to go to work when it's snowing
  • I own a boat, and also a cargo trailer and tow both occasionally, but mostly use these in the summer so I would have access to another vehicle to tow these.
  • My Jeep gets 12-14 mpg at best during my daily driving vs. the Impreza's 18-20 mpg
  • I would also have to switch from automatic to manual, which I've never driven before but have an extremely good idea of how to drive
  • I do a lot of city driving during the school year

TLDR: My main concerns are if I can deal with the less space and how the Impreza will handle in a major snowstorm.

~Air Cooling Advocate~

As much as I love the Impreza, and I was like, "Yesssss, get it!"

I think with your daily life and environment, the Jeep will better suite your daily needs.

And, also, if you live in a busy area, manual will be a pain in the butt with traffic.