Looking into Creating a Simple Home NAS

roxasodale91

Good day,

It's my first time writing here in this forum.

As my title says, I'm looking into building a simple NAS server that will be used for 5 computers simultaneously. We wanted a dropbox-ish kind of storage to store all our media( pictures/videos/files ).

It was boxing day recently here in Canada and saw this piece of hardware and made an impulsive purchase.

I got the Mediasonic PROBOX HF2-SU3S2. I was planning a long time ago that I wanted to make a NAS server that makes use of RAID array for the disks but here's the thing, the Enclosure that I got DOES NOT support RAID. Turns out that this is a JBOD enclosure.  I understand that I can still create a RAID array for the server as long as if I plug the enclosure via SATA on my MoBo but the MoBo sata drive should support multiport(?) right?

So my question now is that, can I set up a NAS from an old PC and plug this thing on it and use the drives for the NAS server? doesn't matter If it's RAID or not just as long as I can efficiently use this for a NAS server.

here is a link on the enclosure's specs :

http://www.mediasonic.ca/product.php?id=1357290977

are all the things I stated possible or I'm on the wrong track?

1 minute ago, roxasodale91 said:

Good day,

It's my first time writing here in this forum.

As my title says, I'm looking into building a simple NAS server that will be used for 5 computers simultaneously. We wanted a dropbox-ish kind of storage to store all our media( pictures/videos/files ).

It was boxing day recently here in Canada and saw this piece of hardware and made an impulsive purchase.