What is a good programming kit I can buy?

jewishdolphins

I'm new to coding. Only know a bit of python from my high school classes. However, I want to explore my abilities of being able to code by having some sort of kit that will motivate me to learn how to code.

Usually, I've been learning how to code by looking up videos and stuff. But the problem is that when I am learning, videos usually baby me too much to the point where I just feel like I am in school trying to learn a concept. I just want to learn coding by actually applying coding to something like: programming robots, making fancy arduino projects, or even messing around with a mindstorm kit. 

Anyone have any suggestions of where I should start? I want to program some sort of robot. Particularly a robot that can move or have a crane and pick things up or do other fancy things. The problem is that I have no clue what kits are good or what I should buy. If anyone has anything good that they can recommend me, it would be great. 

Thanks.

For what you want to do, there really is no kit. If you really want a prebuilt kit just for starting out, then the arduino starter kit is pretty good. It's got an LCD display, some leds, some potentiometers, switches, resistors, transistors, capacitors, plenty of wires, an electric motor, small bread board, and a beginners book.

In the model or miniature world we call it "kit bashing" or collecting parts of kits and modifying them and adding things to them to build our own kit. 

Before I can help you put together a custom kit, I need to know a few things:

• How much do you want to learn about the electronics side of it?
  • What languages do you want to use?
  • What are your end goals?
  • Are you willing to learn a new language?
  • What is your budget?

ENCRYPTION IS NOT A CRIME

21 minutes ago, straight_stewie said: