Creating a Game - Language?

Bigun

I'm a fairly seasoned programmer:  PHP, CSS, HTML, SQL, Perl, Bash, and so on.

But I've always programmed utilities and tools, never a game.  I don't mind paying for a language, but I need it to give me enough time/code to know if it will work for what I need.

So I've had an idea rattling around in my head for a 2d game, and need some ideas for languages.

What the most important aspects for me is the sound engine and compatibility with a variety of systems.

"There is probably a special circle of Hell reserved for people who force software into a role it was never designed for."
- Radium_Angel

You could use Unity3Ds 2D Game engine. In Unity you're usually using C# for programming, but I think you could javascript for some things too. Another advantage of Unity is the pricing, Game engines are usually pretty expensive, but as long as you don't earn more than $100k from selling your game Unity is free

Unreal engine is also free and easier to use than unity. Not sure if it does 2D though.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

Gamemaker -  GML ( own language )

Unity - C# or Javascript

Unreal Engine 4 - Blueprint and/or C++

Gamemaker is an engine based on 2D graphics. Unity is a somewhat a hybrid, but both acceptable to make a game out of it.  Unreal is heavily based on 3D graphics, but also has decent 2D features.

41 minutes ago, Enderman said:

Unreal engine is also free and easier to use than unity. Not sure if it does 2D though.