How does PCIe work?

Hello everyone and as you may know i'm a noob,

So I am trying to make a new computer this fall and I really don't understand this: What is PCIe express and what is PCIe or PCIe 3.0? What is the difference?

Then another big thing what is 16x or 8x and what's the difference? How do you know if your GPU has it or if the PCIe has it? 

I think I need a person with a big response in order for me to understand or at least link as website but I prefer an explanation. Thanks for reading and thanks for the reply!

I'm part of the "Help a noob foundation" 

the "e" stands for "express"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

PCIe is a connector. It's on motherboards. PCIe 16x is the connector used for GPUs. It has 16 data lanes. 8x has half that, 1x, 2x and 4x follow that logic as well. With each generation of PCIe, the bandwidth doubles, so a PCIe 3.0 8x has the same band width as a PCIe 2.0 16x. At the moment, no GPU is held back by PCIe bandwidth.

Main Gaming Rig:

Spoiler

Core i7-4770, Cryorig M9i Cooler, ASUS B85M GAMER, 8GB HyperX Fury Red 2x4GB 1866MHz, KFA2 GTX 970 Infin8 Black Edition "4GB", 1TB Seagate SSHD, 256GB Crucial m4 SSD, 60GB Corsair SSD for Kerbal and game servers, Thermaltake Core V21 Case, EVGA SuperNOVA 650W G2.

Secondary PC:

Spoiler

i5-2500k OCed, Raijintek Themis, Intel Z77GA-70K, 8GB HyperX Genesis in grey, GTX 750 Ti, Gamemax Falcon case.

so for example if you put a 16x GPU in a 8x PCIe slot you get have the speed/bandwidth?