Pokemon Transferring? (GB, GBA, GBC, DS, 3DS)

Johnmakuta

I started playing Pokemon with FireRed so I never played the original GB games. I wanted to go back and play them but I heard that you can't transfer Pokemon those original games. Is this true? If so then why have I heard you can transfer them from the Digital copies that are now available. Using Pokemon Bank? Sorry, I stopped avidly playing at White. Can someone shed some light on this? I want to get my hands on that glitches out Mew and any other Pokemon I don't want to miss.

Gen 1 can transfer to Gen 2 no problems, but even though the GBA can play the older Gen 1/2 carts there was no capability coded in to transfer Pokemon from Gen 1/2 to Gen 3, and considering there was the Gen 1 remakes in the form of FireRed/LeafGreen the lack of a way to move Pokemon from Gen 1 to Gen 3 (via Gen 2) became rather non-existent.

As for the digital re-released of Gen 1 on the 3DS family, they can move Pokemon to Gen 5/6 via Pokemon Bank as (basically) a side effect of being able to use the Bank to move Pokemon from Gen 5 to Gen 6 (or between Gen 6 carts and Gen 6 digital distros).

So using FireRed/LeafGreen with Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald and HeartGold/SoulSilver with Diamond/Pearl/Platinum, you can get the effect of having Gen 1 & Gen 2 Pokemon in Gens 3-6 (via link cables in Gen 3, DS/Lite's GBA port between Gen 3 & 4, & Ad-Hoc WiFi for Gen 4-onwards) even though the original Pokemon from the original games can't directly be moved on up due to older coding/hardware issues. There's even special acknowledgements in OmegaRuby/AlphaSapphire if you've managed to import any Pokemon from the original Gen 3 carts into the new Gen 6 carts.

10 hours ago, Technous285 said: