Remote testing setup

Hi all,

I am an AI student, and often I have to run tests or train models which can take multiple hours to even days. Running this on my main PC is very annoying since it means I can't use it for any extensive things while it is busy.

I was thinking of making a second system which would be used solely to run my tests on so that I can still use my PC when I am running tests.

I mostly use Python and Matlab, so Linux would be the most fitting OS for this project.

Basically I want to have a render farm that does AI testing in stead of rendering, and I am not sure how to set it up OS wise.

PSU tier list // Motherboard tier list // Community Standards 

My System:

Spoiler

AMD Ryzen 5 3600, Gigabyte RTX 3060TI Gaming OC ProFractal Design Meshify C TG, 2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200MHz, MSI B450 Gaming Plus MaxSamsung 850 EVO 512GB, 2TB WD BlueCorsair RM850x, LG 27GL83A-B

I kind of do this but not with AI programming.

I would suggest installing Arch and getting a CLI environment set up there (I preffer this to a GUI), http://se.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/90363 for matlab and just the python cli on the server.

Then I would suggest setting up a nfs/samba file share (whatever OS your running on your desktop) on that machine with or without raid (could also be a nas but thats outside the scope right now). 

Now you just work on your projects in that shared folder from your main desktop and when you're ready to run a simulation/compile just ssh into the server and start the program/compile/whatever from there.

This is the easiest most reliable way to me.

8 minutes ago, Hamosch said:

I kind of do this but not with AI programming.

I would suggest installing Arch and getting a CLI environment set up there (I preffer this to a GUI), http://se.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/90363 for matlab and just the python cli on the server.