Moving Large Files From Home to School

westonb27
Go to solution Solved by Oshino Shinobu,

Probably the best solution is to setup an FTP server at your home so you can transfer files directly. You'll still be limited by the upload speed of your home network (or download speed from college), but you don't actually have to upload things manually. 

Most NAS OSs have FTP features available. 

Hey LTT Forum members. I'm a college student, and I'm frequently pulling a lot of files from my other laptop that I connect to at home in Las Vegas (I'm in AZ for college). Is there any relatively quick way for me to transfer large files from my computer in Las Vegas to my desktop in AZ? Right now I have to upload to Mega.co.nz or Google Drive and then download again on my desktop here. Or I'm using Justbeamit.com. Thanks in advance

You could use a USB 3.0 drive to transfer, or get something like this http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-A3X126-03-YLW-M-3-Foot-Crossover-Yellow/dp/B00004Z591?tag=viglink20237-20 (I don't know the exact logistics of this, but it needs to be a crossover cable)

Current Desktop Build | 2200G | RX 580 4GB | 8GB RAM | CTRL | Logitech G Pro Wireless

Laptop | 2018 MBA 256/16GB | MX Master 

Probably the best solution is to setup an FTP server at your home so you can transfer files directly. You'll still be limited by the upload speed of your home network (or download speed from college), but you don't actually have to upload things manually. 

1 minute ago, zlolslavez said:

You could use a USB 3.0 drive to transfer, or get something like this http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-A3X126-03-YLW-M-3-Foot-Crossover-Yellow/dp/B00004Z591?tag=viglink20237-20 (I don't know the exact logistics of this, but it needs to be a crossover cable)

You're going to need a very long crossover cable to go from Las Vegas to AZ. 

VPN and an NAS or file sharing

FTP as suggested above

Personally I say VPN

_/ V\
                  / /  /
                <<    |
                ,/    ]