Would a GTX 960 or 970 be compatible with my current PSU?

Spacey93

So I was planning hopefully sometime soon to add a GPU to my current PC, as right now I'm just using integrated graphics. I'm still pretty new to PC upgrading, currently just using a prebuild with the following specs. Intel core i5 4460, 8GB RAM, H81m-plus motherboard, is this alright? I've heard the i5 4460 shouldn't have any problems with bottlenecking a GTX 960 or 970. But what I'm mainly concerned about is my PSU, which is a 400W ZALMAN ZM400-GVN. Would this be enough to power a GTX 960 or 970 without too much trouble, hopefully running most games on high settings at 1080p 60FPS?

does your PSU have the required plugs?

if it only has one plug

then you need to invest in another PSU

your system will not bottleneck the 970 or 960

Budget? Uses? Currency? Location? Operating System? Peripherals? Monitor? Use PCPartPicker wherever possible. 

Quote whom you're replying to, and set option to follow your topics. Or Else we can't see your reply.

If your power supply has the correct plugs you will be just fine that power supply is sufficient enough to power  either one of those graphics cards. 

That system will not bottleneck either one of those graphics cards. 

2 minutes ago, striker477 said:

If your power supply has the correct plugs you will be just fine that power supply is sufficient enough to power  either one of those graphics cards. 

That system will not bottleneck either one of those graphics cards. 

Is it just some Pci-e cables I should be looking for? Because I think it's got a couple of those not connected to anything.

And ok that's great to know.

nvidia recommends a minimum 500 watt PSU for a GTX 970 system. they can get a little high imho but i like to do things the safe way especially of your going to OC. you can usually find a 80+ 500 watt evga PSU at a very reasonable price