Hows my database design?

AustinB

I'm no expert on Database schemas but I did notice you're not storing a salt for your users' passwords? Might be a good idea.

Just looking for someone who has experience designing databases to review my schema. Thanks

DLsM0Lb.png

I'm doing a class in SQL and Database design in a college-level course for highschool; let me take a look and i'll do my best to get back to you. Do you happen to have any notes for the database I can look at? If it's confidential I understand.

My procrastination is the bane of my existence.

I make games and stuff in my spare time.

Seems ok, but I dont think you need the completed_auctions table. Its redundant and it will make harder to develop an application.

I'm no expert on Database schemas but I did notice you're not storing a salt for your users' passwords? Might be a good idea.

Assuming he's using bcrypt or scrypt, there is no need for a dedicated field as the salt is concatenation into the resulting hash.

See here for a description of bcrypt hashes: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6832445/how-can-bcrypt-have-built-in-salts

15" MBP TB

AMD 5800X | Gigabyte Aorus Master | EVGA 2060 KO Ultra | Define 7 || Blade Server: Intel 3570k | GD65 | Corsair C70 | 13TB

Seems ok, but I dont think you need the completed_auctions table. Its redundant and it will make harder to develop an application.

I was thinking for the future, save on query times on the active_auctions tables as, the "bids" and "active_auctions" tables with be consistantly be being updated, read, and written to. Thanks for the input, the OP was rushed as it was 2AM.

Looking for a Programming Project take a look here!

http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/407332-looking-for-a-project-idea-start-here/