Switching from i5-3450 to i5-4690k

Hi guys, it's my first time posting something but i need an advice.

By watching all linus videos and other videos on the internet i started liking building, changing components and doing creative things on the pc.

Right now my setup is this :

CPU : I5-3450 3,1Ghz ( stock CPU Cooler)

GPU : Asus AMD Radeon r9 290 OC DirectCU 2

MOBO : MSI Z77a G43 Socket 1155

RAM : 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X 1600Mhz

Power Supply : XFX ProSeries 550W

Case : Corsair Carbide 300r

Since, except the GPU, the pc it's like 3 years old, built it when i knew nothing about pc, i wanted to change things and go with an i5-4690k a CPU liquid cooler and go overlocking.

I know that since my current CPU is a 1155 socket and the one i want buy is a 1150 I need to buy a new mobo.

And probably I should change the power supply too.

My question is, is it convinient to change my current CPU, mobo and power supply just to buy a new generation CPU and go overclocking? will there be enough benefits to justify the money spent?

Or should i just buy an old, maybe new if I find one,  i5-3570k instead?

Thanks and sorry fot the long post ( I don't have a potato  :D ).

Get a 3570K and a decent cooler and overclock

MacBook Pro 13" Mid 2012 w/Core i5 3210M and glorious HD 4000 Graphics

The upgrade wouldn't really be worthwhile. By the time you get a new cpu and mobo, that's close to $500 for not much more power. Is there a specific reason you are upgrading other than (the very acceplable) "because I can"?

When in doubt, re-format.

Hi guys, it's my first time posting something but i need an advice.

By watching all linus videos and other videos on the internet i started liking building, changing components and doing creative things on the pc.

Right now my setup is this :

CPU : I5-3450 3,1Ghz ( stock CPU Cooler)

GPU : Asus AMD Radeon r9 290 OC DirectCU 2

MOBO : MSI Z77a G43 Socket 1155

RAM : 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X 1600Mhz

Power Supply : XFX ProSeries 550W