Pride and Shame all in one build. Warning...large pics.

Sigh...

Ok.  I can do this.  Several years ago I built an oil cooled pc in the style of Puget Systems mineral oil cooled pc.  It was ill advised, expensive, and difficult.  But...I'm a better builder for having tried.  I think it's time I shared this story.

I don't know where I first heard about this build.  But here's the link. http://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php

I was enthralled at my first glimpse of the thing.  So I got some materials together.  Finding the fish tank was easy.  

post-7189-0-91686500-1373773821_thumb.jp

In this photo you can see the fish tank, the lian li tray, the fist tank decorative stones and the 12v marine bilge pump I used to pump the oil.

I had NO IDEA what I was really in for.  None.  

I anticipated the need for a radiator.  Thus the pump.  Here's what I found.

post-7189-0-09446300-1373774178_thumb.jp

That's a radiator out of an old furnace a/c unit.  I'm not proud of it.  That's what I could afford at the time.

Here's the old tower that I was converting.  I don't remember all of the spec's.

post-7189-0-08063700-1373774750_thumb.jp

Rockin' that 3.5" floppy.

post-7189-0-03072300-1373774844_thumb.jp

What management again?  Ohh and lookit!  An Eide cable!  I remember those.

This was the testing hardware I used to be sure I wasn't being taken for a sucker.

I'm sorry I don't have more in-process photos to show but I wasn't thinking about posting this to any forum at the time.

post-7189-0-40160400-1373775006_thumb.jp

Can you tell it was October?

post-7189-0-61343500-1373775237_thumb.jp

Somewhere between "I did it!" and "What have I done?".

post-7189-0-26592200-1373775314_thumb.jp

This was more than a little overwhelming.  You can see that:

1. I'm insane.

2. I'm unorganized.

3. I'm not concerned with neatness at this point.

post-7189-0-02042400-1373775504_thumb.jp