My experience with my 860k

So today has been quite the adventure, had to run to Best Buy to get extra thermal compound because my brand new 860k was overheating causing Windows to boot 50% of the time and freeze constantly. But not when I first put it in... When I first put it in it was fine, running small games like garry's mod and killing floor. Though once I overclocked it, things flipped, where what I said in the beginning started happening. Even when I went back to stock I was having trouble with stability. Reapplied thermal compound twice. Temps were around 50 degrees celcius at BIOS. So I was lost, I have a cooler master 212 evo btw. So I kept checking the thermal paste making sure it wasn't that. Then thought maybe it's a bad chip? Nope. I have it clocked at 4.4GHz right now with temps under 60 degrees under a burn in test under 100 percent load. My my, max! What did you do?! Um. I'm not sure. What I think I did was screw in the mounts on the mobo to connect the heatsink in really tight since one fell off. Does one mounting screw make that much of a difference?! 

PCPartPicker Link To My Build

My YouTube channel, also check out my Twitch Stream!

Check out my Lastest CS:GO Video!

So I kept checking the thermal paste

Did you clean off and reapply thermal paste every time you removed the cooler?

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020