Will the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Headphones need a amp & general question?

HueyTheGod

Hey guys! I am new to headphones, mainly a hardware and software guy and not an audio freak, but I am looking to get myself a good pair of headphones to listen to music (dubstep and other base heavy things mainly), play games on (not a freak about that so much), and use with my phone on the go. I might also use them with an external microphone to record video's in the future, but that is pretty irrelevant? 

Anyways, I have decided that I should go for the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Headphones for $169.99. I want the x version because the detachable cable seems worth it to me, but I might not get the x version since the 2 are basically the same from what I hear. Should I get these, or go for another pair that you recommend? Folding up would be great. 

Next question: Would the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Headphones need an amp to gain more quality? If so, what amp do you recommend? I don't want to spend more than $100 on some amp though -_-

My dream build is a watercooled 450D or 750D with a i7-4930k and 2 780 Ti's in SLI. My realistic build is a $1500 budget build. 

I need a job.

Have you set your mind on the M50x? It's not a bad headphone, just kinda overpriced. 

The CHC Silverados are on sale on Amazon, for $50 (from $200). Good reviews about these. Other than that, Sony XB500 sounds good, great bass, good soundstage for a closed back (certainly better soundstage than the M50)

BTW, M50 shouldn't need an amp to make it work properly. A lot of people use amps for easy-to-drive headphones, to get the pleasant sound coloration of the amps, though....

I haven't set my mind on anything, but basically what I want is something that naturally goes over the ear, looks average or better (not like a mad scientist looking headphone) and average to great sound cancelling. Attachable cord is a plus.