Edutainment PC planning - questions for a new build

Go to solution Solved by TatamiMatt,
3 hours ago, Powderd_Toastman said:

Budget (including currency): $1000 USD

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: 1440p high-fidelity gaming, 3D modeling, development environment

Other details: Existing 'Rig': i7-4790k, ASUS Maximus VII Hero, 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW, Corsair RM850x power supply

I've been using this computer solid for the last 7+ years, and it's been a faithful companion. It's tired and starting to really hiccup and stutter with games with large worlds, or higher base resolution textures.

I'm working with around $1000USD, and my idea is to try to save a bit in the GPU space by trying my hand at the used market for a 3080ti. I'll be working with 3D modeling, some mild simulations, and games as the majority of the  use. Edit: My gaming target is 1440p 240hz and high/max settings. What's the community sentiment on Intel vs AMD, considering my use cases? I'll be re-using my existing storage media, it's plenty adequate for me so far.

So I'd like to ask for some opinions on what good combinations exist, within this sort of price bracket? Are there any standout features of motherboard chipsets I should be aware of for the current generation of CPUs? Things like Wifi or RGB aren't terribly important. My current PC is an ATX in an EATX case, and I'd love some recommendations for some medium-sized tower cases that could maybe help reclaim some space from the top of my desk (I've never been one to put it on the floor; I enjoy a nice view window to see the insides!)

Another thing, I know the capacity of my PSU seems to be adequate, but will I have any issues by reusing it? It's a replacement for the original corsair 750w, I would ballpark it to be 4-5 years old at this point.