HELP! How to download a file from your html website. Also another thing about html coding/databases

mkessler9

Hello so I have 2 questions.

Problem 1.

Ok so I'm fairly new to making websites. What I've been trying to do is set up my website so that if I click on a link it will download my file. Say a program that I made(just as example purposes, I have no idea how to code programs as I am new to this). I have setup the link and where to access the file on my web server when the link is clicked but when I click on the link on my web site it loads a new page and says 404. How do I fix this problem? As far as the directory of the file I know that is correct. But I'm not entirely sure that the code to tell the browser to download the file is correct. So could someone please post the code to tell the browser to download the specified file? Thanks.

Problem 2.

So I've also been trying to make a login page so that me and other users can access certain things or edit the website. I have watched many tutorials and have since then installed mqsql and phpmyadmin. That works and I can view the localhost file from phpmyadmin. I also have phpmyadmin in the correct directory and I can access it and attempt to setup my data base for the user login(I have all the files for the webpage itself like the box for username login and pass). But my problem is when I follow exactly how the people on youtube say to setup the database I still can't get it to work. Could someone please post in the chat exact instructions on how to create the database and how to make my website be able to access it? Preferably in text because I've already watched a ton of youtube videos on it.

Thanks in advance.

Also sorry if this should be under the programming page. I just figured since I'm having an issue that it should be under troubleshooting.