Dell PowerEdge R710 Storage Upgrade Questions

Hello,

I am quite new to the whole home server hobby. I have recently acquired a Dell PowerEdge R710. After opening it up it seems like the raid card it came with was the: PERC 6i pci-e sas raid controller. it also came with 4 300 gb SAS drives. I am looking to upgrade the storage capacity of the r710 and possibly fill all 8 drive bays. My question would be: Would Seagate BarraCuda 2.5 inch sata drives work in this server? Or would it require me to get a new raid controller?

Thanks for your time!

SATA drives can go into a SAS backplane, but SAS drives cant go into a SATA backplane.

You should be good to go

Also, to get to the raid card to set up your raid arrays/ storage pools, you do that through the BIOS. Look for which F key to hit.

Sata drives will work in that system up to 2TB, but Id probably avoid those barracuda drives(and all other current 2.5in laptop drives). Those drives are likely SMR, so they will have awful performance in some workloads, like in a raid config. 

15 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

Sata drives will work in that system up to 2TB, but Id probably avoid those barracuda drives(and all other current 2.5in laptop drives). Those drives are likely SMR, so they will have awful performance in some workloads, like in a raid config. 

What type of drives would you recommend?

35 minutes ago, S1LENT said:

What type of drives would you recommend?

SSDs would be the go to if you can afford the extra.

If you want cheap mass storage Id go with external 3.5 in hdds. Much better than a 2.5in based solution.

You can find some decent deals of groups of 2.5in sas hdds, but those are going to likey be used.

3 hours ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

You can find some decent deals of groups of 2.5in sas hdds, but those are going to likey be used.