Best non-mesh system for a century home with a lot of IoT Devices?

such_a_clever_name

I need a router recommendation for a century home with a LOT of 2.4ghz IoT devices. I am a networking novice and I have sub-gig service to my home.

We previously ran a Google Wifi (non-Nest) system, before switching to Verizon who provided the feature-packed CR1000A router. Now that we've switched ISPs again, I need something a little more modern and speedier than going back to Google Mesh.

Both my partner and I are remote workers with a lot of video conferencing, we game on living room PCs (through WiFi) and a Nintendo Switch. We have a lot of smart bulbs, smart sockets, and smart speakers around the house. It's only possible to direct-wire my partner's work laptop. Everything else would require major wall cutting, which we are not keen on.

The Google mesh system we used to use topped out around 380Mps between devices and download speed while we're now getting around 600 from the wall coax. The lack of a dedicated backhaul on the Google Mesh seemed to cut into performance when we were gaming and smart home automation stuff was happening in the background. Wired Cat6 backhaul is not possible in my home, and MoCa adapters for backhaul would be too complex to install from the router location as we have cable internet service coming through the coax. Only a few devices like TVs and computers have ethernet ports, but it's only feasible to 

We especially had trouble with the amount of devices on our network including a ring doorbell, smart bulbs, smart switches, a few appliances, a few smart TVs, plus phones and game systems. All in all, we max out around 30 devices connected at one time.