First time builder… do I do it…? Please help…

NGamer

Budget (including currency): $3,000

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Music production, photo/movie

Other details NA

Well, like I said, I am looking at becoming a first time builder.

I have read a lot on this site and have watched a lot (200+) of YouTube videos from LTT, JayzTwoCents, Paul's Hardware, etc.

Every time I put my parts list together (pcpartpicker.com) – I just get a very uneasy feeling of “what if…”

I have never done anything like this before.

Of the 6 PCs I have owned over the years, I have always only bought HP’s and a Dell directly from their websites.

If there ever was a problem, and luckily that was very rare, I contacted either HP or Dell and was told how to fix it.

Now, if there is a problem – who do I contact?

I won’t know if it’s a motherboard problem – a memory problem – an AIO cooler problem –a PSU problem – a CPU problem – a GPU problem…, etc…

And then I have to contact several different manufacturers to try to fix the problem – Intel, G.Skill, MSI, Seasonic, Nvidia, etc…

When before, I just needed to contact one place – either HP or Dell.

And if it is a motherboard problem - I have to take apart everything and send the motherboard in..., etc...

And then how do I know which parts work well together…?

From reading this site and watching the YouTube videos – some parts, like CPUs, motherboards, or memory, don’t always work well with each other… 

I really would like to do this… but WOW…

Any input (encouragement, lol) would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!

11 minutes ago, NGamer said:

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Music production, photo/movie

Other details NA

I have read a lot on this site and have watched a lot (200+) of YouTube videos from LTT, JayzTwoCents, Paul's Hardware, etc.

Every time I put my parts list together (pcpartpicker.com) – I just get a very uneasy feeling of “what if…”