Should i get the M1 Macbook Air or the 2015 Macbook Pro 15'?

Hi there

I'm a film student about to finish his degree in film and Tv. I plan on freelancing next year and i need to upgrade my current laptop, a 2011 13 inch Macbook pro with 16gb of ram and a 2.7ghz i7 processor. I don't have a big budget being a student and realistically can only afford the cheapest mac that can get the job done. I was originally looking ay getting the 15 inch 2015 macbook pro with the top of the line processor and 16gb of ram. Now i see that the M1 Macbook air is out and causing all this buzz and i was wondering if that would be a better option. Where i live in South Africa the two choices are around the same price and I'm struggling to pick between the two. I love the idea of having a 15 inch screen and 16 gb of ram with the 2015 mac but wonder if the M1 chip is worth giving those up for? Let me know your thoughts thanks>

6 minutes ago, DanTheMan99 said:

Now i see that the M1 Macbook air is out and causing all this buzz and i was wondering if that would be a better option.

It will, simply from the fact that x86 mac will be on a massive limbo with it basically on its way to full discontinuation, in both apps and hardware sense. If you wanna keep your laptop for more than 2-3 years from now, M1 Macbook.

Press quote to get a response from someone! | Check people's edited posts! | Be specific! | Trans Rights

I am human. I'm scared of the dark, and I get toothaches. My name is Frill. Don't pretend not to see me. I was born from the two of you.

M1 no doubt. That and depending on which 2015 you get you can get the terrible butterfly keyboard that is guaranteed to break basically.

That and I don't see apple supporting x86 based macs for much longer.

Also keep in mind the difference in performance between a i7 2011 and i7 2015 is not that big the difference isn't even 30% between the highest end ones of 2011 and 2015.