Buying 2 single 16 GB RAM sticks vs buying a 2x16 GB RAM Kit

Go to solution Solved by Eighjan,
1 minute ago, Araleiya said:

Even if they're from the same manufacturer with the same part number?

Yes.  A matched pair are sold that way on purpose.

Problems are rare, but if you 'need' the machine urgently, can you take the chance?

Hi, I've just ordered 2 sticks of 3600 MHz, 16 GB RAM for my first ever desktop but I was told that there might be an issue with buying RAM separately and not from a RAM Kit.
Is this true? I've never built a PC before so I start to get paranoid when I'm told these things. I purchased them separately because it was cheaper but if they won't work together I'll need to cancel the order as soon as possible.

The RAM I bought was two Crucial Ballistix Black DDR4 3600MHz 16GB (BL16G36C16U4B)

Sorry for any grammatical errors in this post, my first language isn't English.

Capture.PNG

3 minutes ago, Araleiya said:

Hi, I've just ordered 2 sticks of 3600 MHz, 16 GB RAM for my first ever desktop but I was told that there might be an issue with buying RAM separately and not from a RAM Kit.
Is this true? I've never built a PC before so I start to get paranoid when I'm told these things. I purchased them separately because it was cheaper but if they won't work together I'll need to cancel the order as soon as possible.

The RAM I bought was two Crucial Ballistix Black DDR4 3600MHz 16GB (BL16G36C16U4B)

Sorry for any grammatical errors in this post, my first language isn't English.

A matched pair will more reliably "play nice" together; two singles bought from the same retailer in the same cart are less likely to share that luxury.

I frequently edit any posts you may quote; please check for anything I 'may' have added.

Did you test boot it, before you built in into the case?

WHY NOT...?!