Upgrading from a laptop to PC

Go to solution Solved by TMShader,

I changed my setup completely. I got some inspiration from some LTT videos and your comments. Thanks for all the help!

Hi, I'm a student from Hungary and I'd like to upgrade my laptop to a PC at the end of the school year. I picked a starting point that I think is great. I never built a PC before, that's the main reason I'm asking for help here. 

1. Budget & Location

I want the whole build to be under 1600 USD (500,000 HUF)

2. Aim

I will use this computer to do software developement and sometimes play games with low performance requirements (Minecraft, Don't starve, etc.). I might use it to play around with blender and unity a little bit but that's not the main goal.

3. Monitors

I want one ultrawide or wide monitor that I included in the starting point that I chose.

4. Peripherals

I'm going to use Windows and I only need a monitor for the PC.

5. Why are you upgrading?

I'm upgrading because my laptop is really old and slow and I finally got enough money to upgrade. I always preferred PCs over laptops and I have the chance to get one.

6. Existing parts

I made a list on PCPartPicker: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/9GLQsX

I'm thankful for any kind of help. If you think that the starting point doesn't have any flaws and it should be ok to buy it, please let me know that too.

Thanks, have a great day!

the gpu you've selected is very overpriced and slow (as are all gpu options currently). I'd go with integrated graphics until the market comes back.

Do you have something to recommend? I'm not very experienced in this so I have no idea what a good choice could be.

6 minutes ago, TMShader said:

Do you have something to recommend? I'm not very experienced in this so I have no idea what a good choice could be.

Well the unfortunate thing is that there is nothing to recommend. There is no real GPUS available right now.

geometry is hard
b550 > x570

Just now, Max L said: