This seems like a ridiculus item, I want it, do you guys think? (Pentium Xeon III)

I'm somewhat new to the PC scene, but what's up with this thing's name? is it like a Supra-Celica situation where they both used to be the same thing but then seperated?

Also this thing seems to be an add-in card (like a modern GPU), so does this mean you could literally slot multiple CPUs into a PC, and if so why can't we do that today?

Found on ebay, when looking for a collectible gift for a computer friend

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/706-53473-19255-0/1?icep_ff3=2&pub=5575378759&campid=5338273189&customid=&icep_item=313482255424&ipn=psmain&icep_vectorid=229529&kwid=902099&mtid=824&kw=lg&toolid=11111

3 minutes ago, Alex300ZX said:

I'm somewhat new to the PC scene, but what's up with this thing's name? is it like a Supra-Celica situation where they both used to be the same thing but then seperated?

Also this thing seems to be an add-in card (like a modern GPU), so does this mean you could literally slot multiple CPUs into a PC, and if so why can't we do that today?

Found on ebay, when looking for a collectible gift for a computer friend

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/706-53473-19255-0/1?icep_ff3=2&pub=5575378759&campid=5338273189&customid=&icep_item=313482255424&ipn=psmain&icep_vectorid=229529&kwid=902099&mtid=824&kw=lg&toolid=11111

All Pentium III were slotted *EDIT: Most were, not all

I make Rainmeter things and other art :D

2 minutes ago, Alex300ZX said:

No, it's not. The CPUs around this time were mounted on cards, instead of sockets, so the cache could be closer to the CPU.

That's not needed anymore since the cache is integrated into the CPU die.

Intel's version of the socket was called Slot 1.

Just now, Wyzzy Moon said:

All Pentium III were slotted

That is false. Some were slotted, some were socketed. You could get Slot 1 to Socket 370 adapters.

elephants

2 minutes ago, Wyzzy Moon said:

All Pentium III were slotted *EDIT: Most were, not all