Any good solutions for DIY offsite backups?

Hello,  I currently have a NAS (OpenMediaVault) setup at home for household backups.  The NAS has about 8TB worth of files on it, 6TB of that are image files - I am an amateur photographer.  Every 1-3 months I would copy the critical files to USB hard drives and I would take them to my office. Working remotely has worked well for our team, so I do not think we will be returning to the office.

I want to set up an offsite backup solution using an old HP desktop someone gave me. (AM4-5000 1.5Gz, 8GB ram)  I will probably just re-purpose the old USB drives I was using for the cold backups I had at the office. My parents have a cottage about 60km away and have  a high speed connection. I would set up the computer there.

I have enough experience in using Linux. I am considering setting up a Ubuntu Server with a VPN link between the offsite backup and my NAS.  With a simple Rsync copy job that would run periodically. Probably a pull configuration?

I suppose my question is, is there a better (ideally free) solution out there to achieve this?  Some sort of Linux appliance or open source project, perhaps with a nice web interface that would allot me monitor the backups from time to time, health of the drives, etc... 

And before anyone says anything, yes i can google it myself...  But I would just really appreciate some up to date suggestions to get me started.

Thanks.

if you can let the remote system VPN in so you can access it directly, rsync is probably the most simple way of doing things.