Maximum number of applications a CPU can support?

Entropy.

Hullo, 

I've been trying to do a little basic research on how a cpu works, and primarily, how many applications a CPU can run simultaneously. So the CPU has physical cores- but what exactly does that determine? When running applications, say, youtube, could a 4-core hyperthreaded processor only run 4 youtube videos totally simultaneously? In that context, what would hyperthreading do? I've heard that it's essentially using the CPU to extremely quickly switch between two applications? What would happen if you say, opened more than 8 youtube videos at once? Would the CPU be able to support that? Finally, say that each youtube video would put every physical core of the CPU under full load. Would that change anything? Would the CPU be able to still run 8+ applications of a youtube video at once? Sorry for the noob questions lol, I'm just really struggling to find a source that explains it. 

I am NOT a professional and a lot of the time what I'm saying is based on limited knowledge and experience. I'm going to be incorrect at times. 

Motherboard Tier List                   How many watts do I need?
Best B550 Motherboards             Best Intel Z490 Motherboards

PC Troubleshooting                      You don't need a big PSU

PSU Tier List                                Common pc building mistakes 
PC BUILD Guide! (POV)              How to Overclock your CPU 

1 minute ago, Brok3n But who cares? said:

could a 4-core hyperthreaded processor only run 4 youtube videos totally simultaneously?

Not quite that simple. It could run 4 single-thread applications simultaneously, yes, but e.g. playing a Youtube-video involved tons of threads, including the OS's own processer, drivers, the browser etc.

3 minutes ago, Brok3n But who cares? said:

In that context, what would hyperthreading do? I've heard that it's essentially using the CPU to extremely quickly switch between two applications?