Lens recommendations for EOS M50 and maybe a quick lesson about lenses

Code-E

Hi there,

So I have a Canon EOS M50 and the Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 STM lens, I'm really new to cameras that need lenses so I have no idea why this lens is SO zoomed in, at least compared to the kit lens that came with the M50. I'd like the blurred background that comes with the 50mm lens but a bit less zoomed in. I'm using the camera for video btw, the 50mm lens makes it so I can't use it in the recording space I have. It also seems to make the mic on the camera less effective because of the distance.

I've done some googling and can't figure out which of the aspects of the lenses, that I don't fully understand, is causing this zoom.

Thanks for any recommendations and any lessons.

1 hour ago, Code-E said:

Hi there,

So I have a Canon EOS M50 and the Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 STM lens, I'm really new to cameras that need lenses so I have no idea why this lens is SO zoomed in, at least compared to the kit lens that came with the M50. I'd like the blurred background that comes with the 50mm lens but a bit less zoomed in. I'm using the camera for video btw, the 50mm lens makes it so I can't use it in the recording space I have. It also seems to make the mic on the camera less effective because of the distance.

I've done some googling and can't figure out which of the aspects of the lenses, that I don't fully understand, is causing this zoom.

you should do research about focal length, crop factor and how they affect field of view

a issue with switching to shorter or longer focal length on a lens (wider or narrower angle of view) affects also distortion and perspective of how you see something through the lens

yeah what would i know about cameras or cinematography compared to you tech people.  i've only done this work for nearly 20 years, won a few awards, worked in over a dozen different countries and a few multi million dollar projects

11 minutes ago, Code-E said:

Hi there,