Can two different sized RAM run in dual channel?

Go to solution Solved by SpaceGhostC2C,

20 minutes ago, Ariando said:

My question is, if I buy another stick with the same speed but different size (say, 4 gigs 2666 mhz) and put it alongside the 16 gigs RAM, can they run in a dual channel manner ? 

If inserted in the right slots, they will run  partially in dual channel mode. In your example, you will have 8GB in dual channel mode (4gB+4GB), while the excess 12GB of the original stick will work in single channel mode.

Hi, I'm a newbie in PC building. I'm in the process of building my first budget PC for gaming and editing. I accidentally bought a single stick of RAM (16 gigs, 2666 mhz) instead of 2 x 8 gigs configuration. My question is, if I buy another stick with the same speed but different size (say, 4 gigs 2666 mhz) and put it alongside the 16 gigs RAM, can they run in a dual channel manner ? Also, will it be safe ? Thanks in advance!

I feel as if the issues brought about from mixing very different ram sizes, speeds, brands, etc outweigh the speed of single channel memory provide. I'd say either return and get 2x8, or stick with the 1 16gb and upgrade later.

In dual channel the system will be unstable, dual channel writes (and reads) from both sticks at the same time. Kind of like raid0 for memory, with different sized sticks system crashes when you write past the 4gb on both sticks. You can run single channel mixed sizes with no issues 

The best gaming PC is the PC you like to game on, how you like to game on it

4 minutes ago, duckypath said:

I feel as if the issues brought about from mixing very different ram sizes, speeds, brands, etc outweigh the speed of single channel memory provide. I'd say either return and get 2x8, or stick with the 1 16gb and upgrade later.