Device with static mac-adress

GenericFanboy
Go to solution Solved by TheInfinityBacon,

You can use a dongle to add an Ethernet port to a phone. Generic Ethernet to USB-C or Micro have usually worked fine for me.

We're looking for a device that has a static mac adress. Which is quite easy to find i guess, but here's the catch. It needs to be small, battery powered and have an ethernet port. 

We're using this for a reason thats uhh.. quite hard to explain! so i wont. If you need extra info please do ask. 

We tried a raspberry pi with a battery, it didnt work how we wanted it to, but the idea is there.

maybe an intel NUC?

Anything i've written between the * and * is not meant to be taken seriously.

keep in mind that helping with problems is hard if you aren't specific and detailed.

i'm also not a professional, (yet) so make sure to personally verify important information as i could be wrong.

1 minute ago, flashiling said:

maybe an intel NUC?

Sadly looking for smaller then that, battery powered is also important

2 minutes ago, GenericFanboy said:

Sadly looking for smaller then that, battery powered is also important

uhhhm

most phones have their own mac addresses. maybe that?

keep in mind that helping with problems is hard if you aren't specific and detailed.

i'm also not a professional, (yet) so make sure to personally verify important information as i could be wrong.

5 minutes ago, GenericFanboy said:

We're looking for a device that has a static mac adress.

All MAC addresses are static, they are hard coded to the network interface controller. They can be spoofed, but you don't have dynamic MAC addresses like you do with IP addresses, they are always static.

6 minutes ago, GenericFanboy said:

We're looking for a device that has a static mac adress.

I don't understand this. All Ethernet-devices have, by default, a static MAC-address.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.