IM A LINUX NOOB

Go to solution Solved by TheJedi,

No Linux does not need to be activated, however, I have found when installing Kali there is always a problem with a missing file. Also Kali is very much for cyber security students and experts and I do not reccomend it for the tasks you have said. 

Also, it installs a lot of unnecessary programs on your drive, as well as not working as well as other distros. I have found installing applications to be a bit more tricky sometimes as it does not have PPA. You may not need this right away but it's something for you to think about.

I really reccomend Ubuntu for a Linux begginer for you. Its not too complicated but gives you the freedom to customize as you like and it is the most used Linux distro worldwide.

So recently I have saved up enough for 1 machine that I can just use for programs like folding@home and i heard it works better on linux, mostly cause it uses less ram, therefore saving me money. Just wondering, does linux need to be activated like windows? (I know you dont technically need to activate windows, but I just want to know if you should get a code or something to activate linux)

and i will most likely be using Kali, as it'll fit nicely onto my small spare blank 250gb hdd. i probably wont have an ssd in it. It is Debian based I think, which means it should be able to run folding, but if im wrong someone please correct me. also it will be using an oem hp compaq motherboard, which shouldnt be a problem according to my research, but let me know if I am wrong. Thanks!

No Linux does not need to be activated, however, I have found when installing Kali there is always a problem with a missing file. Also Kali is very much for cyber security students and experts and I do not reccomend it for the tasks you have said.