I think I need to go all in on either Microsoft or Apple (long-ish) Which would you choose in my position?

Going all in on Apple  

11 members have voted

1. 1. Is it worth it to dedicate to the Apple ecosystem over splitting across all ecosystems?

• Apple
    • Microsoft
    • Other (Please Explain)

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on Aug 28, 2020 at 10:22 PM

Mostly interested in hearing from people that have made the transition or work with these systems on a daily basis, especially with a developer focus.  I don't really care about the Mac/Windows flame war stuff.  In my mind, they each have their strengths and weaknesses and provide comparable work flows once you learn their ways of doing things.

So a bit of background.  I come from an engineering background.  I am a software developer, mostly been server side, embedded systems, and that sort of thing.  I also do drone work and have some serious number crunching requirements on that side.  I have recently been working towards getting into mobile and web development, mostly because I want to get into a stable freelancing routine and that is where the bulk of the work is as well as being able to do it while traveling for my other job.  My primary purpose in making this transition is to limit the fragmentation, become more mobile, and eliminate some of the work flow interruptions from jumping OS's constantly for different tasks.

I have not really been 'dedicated' to any particular OS.  The last 8-10 years I would say I have been spending about 60% of my time on Linux, about 30% on Windows, and about 10% on Mac OS.  But over the last year or two my time on the Mac OS has been eating into the Linux portion, greatly.  I have purchased software for each of them that I use on a regular basis, but because of this my software library, media library, and workflows have been somewhat fragmented across the different eco systems.