Water Cooling, Temperature and Flow Sensors

Hi all,

I am new to water cooling, and am currently loving the loop I installed but after looking around for temperature and flow sensors, I wanted to start with something more simple as a temporary way to monitor temps before I eventually maybe install and LCD monitor or something. 

My problem is I have no idea how I am supposed to connect to the motherboard. On page 1-25 of my motherboard manual it says I can connect temperature and flow sensors but it doesn't really give me any indication of in what order (shows W_IN and W_OUT).

I also heard mention that people can connect it to certain graphics cards and it would show up in the data for said graphics card's control panel? (IDK if this is true however)

There also doesn't seem to be any indication of whether the port is polar (requiring positive and negative terminals in a certain order) and the plug doesn't indicate it either, no instructions...

Looking for some advice as I can't seem to find anything online doing simple searches. If you have other options that you have used for displaying these temps and flow let me know (although flow isn't a huge concern for me right now)

Thanks in advance!

My Info:

I have an Asus Maximus X Hero (Wi-fi) motherboard, the link to the manual is here: 
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA1151/ROG_MAXIMUS_X_HERO_WI-FI_AC/E13646_ROG_MAXIMUS_X_HERO_WI-FI_AC_UM_V2_WEB.pdf

I ordered this generic Temperature sensor:

https://www.newegg.ca/p/0X6-04KT-03WY8?Item=9SIAK7K9A26157&nm_mc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel&cm_mmc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel-_-Content-_-text-_-

I am also cooling a Geforce GTX 1080ti FTW 3 from EVGA

4 minutes ago, Vicariously said:

Welcome, sounds like you've done enough reading so I'll be happy to help you out. You're actually really on the best way to set up the temperature probe (far better than just an LCD display).