90 ℃ even with nh-d15. Normal?

I have an amd 3900x and while I ran cinnebench, the temps skyrocketed to 90℃. I was expecting better cooling performance with nh-d15.

I'm new to pc building and I'm not quite sure if this kind of temps are normal even with the giant nh-d15 CPU cooler. 

Did you apply thermal paste? If yes is it from reputable brand? Did you mount it properly? and stupid question but many people actually forgot to do this, Does the cooler has plastic cover on the base plate? did you remove it? Is the fans spinning? how high is the rpm? did you connect the fan cables properly? is it in dc or pwm mode?

Edited by RekiChan

NH-D15 comes with Noctuas own thermal paste.

Did you use the right spacers with the included mounting kit? If I remember correctly, the grey ones are for AM4 socket.

And another thing, what kind of core voltages is your mobo pushing to cpu?

3700X | NH-D15 | X470-F | 2x16GB @3200MHz | RTX 2060 Ventus OC

RM650x | Fractal Design R4 | NVMe 970 EVO Plus 512GB | SATA 850 EVO 512GB

<Build Log>

3 minutes ago, Dubba said:

NH-D15 comes with Noctuas own thermal paste.

Thanks, I didn't know that. But it could be second hand one or used on other PC before, or God forbid... they removed the thermal paste thinking that they were supposed to do that. As OP said that they were new to PC building.

Just now, RekiChan said:

Thanks, I didn't know that. But it could be second hand one or used on other PC before, or God forbid... they removed the thermal paste thinking that they were supposed to do that. As OP said that they were new to PC building.

Well that can always happen xD

Forgot to mention, the thermal paste is not pre-applied to the cooler, but it's provided in a syringe which I really approve of.

<Build Log>

3 hours ago, hoihoi007 said:

I have an amd 3900x and while I ran cinnebench, the temps skyrocketed to 90℃. I was expecting better cooling performance with nh-d15.