Advice in IT

Greetings, Organic creatures.

So- I've been working my first true IT helpdesk job for the past six months, it's been going fairly well- I've learned a lot and I'm looking forward to moving on to Desktop support and repair in the future...well- I think I am anyway.

You see, being somewhat new to the idea of business IT...I make mistakes, and a lot of them. I've never done something huge like- giving a password to someone not authorized or anything that compromises people's data like so, but I do make smaller mistakes that I'm slowly getting better at. Sometimes listing an incident as a restoration instead of a request, sometimes forgetting to note a step or two in my tickets, sometimes not reading something correctly and enacting the wrong step at the wrong time...smaller, fixable errors.

But I always do my best to repair them or fix them, I go through my tickets every night and ensure that they're all up to snuff and revised as needed. I try really really hard to be the best I can be, and I tend to tear myself apart over the smaller mistakes. It doesn't help that some of my superiors make it seem as though I just dropped a wrench and killed IBM Watson with every call out. (I know they mean well but they have a tendancy to try and scare you into fixing your mistakes rather than just letting you know they exist and letting you take it from there.)

I was wondering if anyone else feels the same anxieties I do, and what you do to deal with them in this line of work. I enjoy it very much and I want to be as good as I can be, but I'm not going to lie- my own anxiety is tearing into me over it.

Thanks.

I'm not working in that exact business, but there are some things that should also apply to your field: