GUI programming class

Teddy07

I have a GUI programming class where we have to program a small project in preparation for the exam. My language choices are down to Java, C++ with Visual Studio and Python because I know the first two a bit and wanted to learn Python in the future anyways. I have never done GUI programming so far and I am a beginner overall. I would like to avoid a language where it is a pain to do GUI.

html

Ryzen 5700g @ 4.4ghz all cores | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 3060 | 2x 16gb Micron E 2666 @ 4200mhz cl16 | 500gb WD SN750 | 12 TB HDD | Deepcool Gammax 400 w/ 2 delta 4000rpm push pull | Antec Neo Eco Zen 500w

Well, I think we should break down the pros and cons of your 3 options. This is by no means an exhaustive list, but it should get you started thinking on the right path.

• Python
    • Pros
      • The language is easy
      • There is a plethora of libraries available to ease GUI programming
    • Cons
      • You don't know the language yet
      • Many of the available libraries don't have good documentation
  • C++
    • Pros
      • You know the language
      • You get to learn what the libraries in other languages are doing for you
      • It can be easier to build annoyingly silly applications. This one is by no means complete, but it's a start: https://github.com/superstewie/Dumb-Window
    • Cons
      • If you've never worked with Win32-COM or XWindows, this is the most difficult option
  • Java
    • Pros
      • You know the language
      • Some native support for building a GUI
      • "Commercial" libraries are available
      • You'll make @wasab happy.
    • Cons

ENCRYPTION IS NOT A CRIME

Microsoft to their credit, has made basic GUI applications fairly simple with Windows Forms.  Take a look here if you want a quick example

They handle the majority of the grunt work when it comes to the UI elements, just leaving you with setup, cleanup, and handling the events when a form element is activated.