Input/Output Java, C or C++

BrownZeus

Hey guys,

I'm a fairly novice programmer, and I've taken on (well, thought of and assigned myself) a project. Long story short, it's meant to automatically pull data from a Driver's License and output the data into fields, for say Name, DOB etc.

THe scanner I'm using is a Honeywell Voyager 1450g, and out of the box it behaves much like a keyboard. It'll scan the licenses and output the data into a text box all in one shot. I've scanned my own license into a blank word document and am able to read the data/

Now the scanned input is legible to a certain degree, there is some apparent irrelevent data coded in. I've scanned other people's licenses (approximately 25 license, all from the same state, varying addresses and name lengths) and I've been able to discern at which points in the data I could pull specific data from. For example each piece of data has correspond tag of sorts before it, so for last name it'll look like "DCS[Last Name Here]", DCS being the data tag.

SO what I wanna know is, can I write my program to get this scanned input, but instead of writing it to a field immediately, have the input analyzed and pull the specific data out before having it outputted to a field?

I would love to post an example of the data that gets written by the barcode, but I'm not sure what the other non-text data encodes and therefore I won't risk making my personal information public.

If anyone needs clarification in any aspect of my inquiry please let me know and I will try to elaborate more.

are you using something liek WinForms/WPF/Spring - do you have a GUI or is that a console application?

either way if it's an event based GUI then just add your logic in "OnChange" event and update the textboxes value afterwards should be quick enough for the user to not even notice

if you don't want the user to focus text box beforehand then you can try using keyboard hooks and add events to that