Very noob server question. Yes ive googled it.

So im just learning about servers. I now understand the basic purpose of one server. So, having one powerful server for a business makes sense to me. What i dont understand is this...

When i google pictures of servers, i dont see one. I see about 2,000 of them in stacks in a giant room. If each one is simply a computer with special software to manage other computers and tasks, how in the world are they working together? Id love to know. 

Thanks

They are just a bunch of hard drives that are storing data 

Smoking weed at the red light like its legal

3 minutes ago, Drjack6 said:

So im just learning about servers. I now understand the basic purpose of one server. So, having one powerful server for a business makes sense to me. What i dont understand is this...

When i google pictures of servers, i dont see one. I see about 2,000 of them in stacks in a giant room. If each one is simply a computer with special software to manage other computers and tasks, how in the world are they working together? Id love to know. 

Thanks

Because there are tasks that are way too big for singular servers to do, and people have written software that divides tasks among servers very, very effectively, similarly to how your processor likely has multiple cores, just on another level and massively scaled up.

All these different companies have their own different spins on different approaches and all that...

Sig under construction.

I think Linus is coming out with a video soon (might be already out), where he looks around a massive server database or something. He's been teasing it on Insta and FB, so it should be out in the next few days. 

Intel HEDT and Server platform enthusiasts: Intel HEDT Xeon/i7 Megathread 

Main PC 

CPU: i9 7980XE @4.5GHz/1.22v/-2 AVX offset 

Cooler: EKWB Supremacy Block - custom loop w/360mm +280mm rads 

Motherboard: EVGA X299 Dark 

RAM:4x8GB HyperX Predator DDR4 @3200Mhz CL16