Amateur Needs Question Answered

Hello, I am an amateur airplane photographer and I have a question:Is the quality of the photo degraded if the lens is not at full zoom or minimum zoom.

For example: I have a lens that is 70-300 if I take a picture at 250mm will the quality be different then if the picture was taken at 300mm.

This only applies to TELEPHOTO

To my understanding as long as its an optical zoom and not digital quality is the same. I could be wrong though.

System Specs

CPU: Ryzen 5 5600x | Mobo: Gigabyte B550i Aorus Pro AX | RAM: Hyper X Fury 3600 64gb | GPU: Nvidia FE 4090 | Storage: WD Blk SN750 NVMe - 1tb, Samsung 860 Evo - 1tb, WD Blk - 6tb/5tb, WD Red - 10tb | PSU:Corsair ax860 | Cooling: AMD Wraith Stealth  Displays: 55" Samsung 4k Q80R, 24" BenQ XL2420TE/XL2411Z & Asus VG248QE | Kb: K70 RGB Blue | Mouse: Logitech G903 | Case: Fractal Torrent RGB | Extra: HTC Vive, Fanatec CSR/Shifters/CSR Elite Pedals w/ Rennsport stand, Thustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Track IR5,, ARCTIC Z3 Pro Triple Monitor Arm | OS: Win 10 Pro 64 bit

4 hours ago, TheSlicingEdge said:

Hello, I am an amateur airplane photographer and I have a question:Is the quality of the photo degraded if the lens is not at full zoom or minimum zoom.

For example: I have a lens that is 70-300 if I take a picture at 250mm will the quality be different then if the picture was taken at 300mm.

No difference if you're talking about using the same lens set at 250mm or 300m. If you're talking about using two different lenses, a zoom lens vs. a 300mm prime lens, there might be differences but again often the differences are not noticeable once the photo passes the editing stage.  Some differences are not even noticeable just by looking at the images that come directly out of the camera, unless one of the lenses happen to be particularly bad or you are intentionally looking for the differences.