Advice for the aspiring programer.

Young_Man_Matt

Hi, Im just getting started into programing (which is to say I know enough LUA to get me by). You guys have any tips on how I can become a better coder, work faster, have better results, learn new languages, ect. Thanks!

-> Practice, making small project that fails is the best way to learn.

-> Start small and simple, and slowly go more advance.

-> Comment your code, and document

-> Plan ahead. Have a diagram that shows how things will work. This will allow you to see if you miss anything, or have planned for future features that you won't implement now due to time constraint or lack of knowledge

-> Functions should look simple as possible and clean. Each function can only do 1 thing. This will allow you to increase flexibility in developing your software, reduce repeated code (you don't want duplicated code, as this will make fixing bug difficult, as you'll forget what you did after a month or so), and also it will make easier for you to understand your code as you come back to it later on.

-> Dog Feed your project. This means no mater where you are at in the development of your software, use your software all the time. This will allow you to detect design flaws, bugs, and see what needs to be added to make it more enjoyable to use or more useful.

That is all I have in my mind. Hope this helps.

What languages are you learning.

One thing that you should know is that most languages have similar formatting and syntax.

15" MBP TB

AMD 5800X | Gigabyte Aorus Master | EVGA 2060 KO Ultra | Define 7 || Blade Server: Intel 3570k | GD65 | Corsair C70 | 13TB

Two things that are important:

First, ALWAYS over COMMENT and then trim after the program is done to meet the bare essentials.

Second, ALWAYS break larger problems into smaller ones. IE, Do one thing at a time then build up. Never try to have a Function do too much. Make the program as modular as you can, within reason.