My experience with the hd 449.

zappian

Alright guys im gonna post my experience with these headphones compared to the m50 I used to own.

I am not a professional reviewer nor i claim to be one so these are my impressions.

Lets break this down.

High end.

The hd 449 have a very sharp and clear high end , I would say it can be quite sibilant at times and shrieking in some tunes.

I noticed some sibilance in trance and EDM music , keep in mind this is not what I listen too most of the time.

These are NOT headphones for eletronic music .

Mid end.

I had some issues with the m50s in this range , the senheiser mid end is crisp and clear.

I always found the mid end on the m50s to be muffled and underwhelming.

The notes here just flow naturally .

The mid end is just clean and buttery and flows effortlessly.

These headphones are GREAT for acoustic/classical music and light rock.

Which is what i listen to for the most part.

Low end.

You will need an amp for these , without amp the low end is underwhelming.

Even with amp its not mind blowing.

I would describe it as "meh" , it serves its purpose but it wont blow anyone away.

The m50s have better bass but i found it overwhelming some times.

Conclusion:

Before you grab your pitchforks im not saying the m50 is a bad pair of cans , simply put the clear and crisp mid end

of these cans is great for the kind of music I listen to.

These are great headphones for the price and unlike the m50 arent overly analitical and cold , they wont reveal bad mixes THAT much

and are colored which I actually like.

You wont need excellent quality audio sources to enjoy music.

I have been using my HD 439 and my experience is similar as well.

Might try out the bass mod at some point in the future 

Current system - ThinkPad Yoga 460

ExSystems

Spoiler

Laptop - ASUS FX503VD