R9 280x for BF4?

Go to solution Solved by LBJ,

bf4-fr.png

These numbers are from BF4 (not Beta).

It depends what you mean by ultra, if you meant the preset then a 280X probably won't hold 60fps consistently, but if you have Ultra textures but turn off AA it probably will. 

So does anyone have any benchmarks on the 280x for BF4 (NOT THE BETA PLEASE!)? I've tried to google this, but its all beta benchmarks. Just for comparison, here are my specs: 4670k stock clock speeds (for now :), AsRock z87 pro3, 8 gigs of Corsair Vengence RAM, and a 650 watt psu.

What about Mantle? How much of a frame increase do you think it will have? Or do you recommend the GTX 770 instead if the 280x (I'm probably gonna play BF4 exclusively) No fanboyism please.

Thanks

PS this is my first time on Linus Tech Tips forms :)

I can tell you a 280X in it's current form will not be able to ultra BF4, my 290 is within 2-3 FPS of 60FPS, What I can tell you though is mantle will improve that and potentially allow you to ultra BF4, however we have not seen any benchmarks of how much better BF4 will run with Mantle, it's rumoured to be 20-50% and no, if your playing BF4 exclusively, there is no way in hell you want to get a 770. 

CPU: Intel Core i7-4790k @ 4.7 1.3v  with a Corsair H80 w/Dual SP120s - Motherboard: MSI Z97 gaming 5 - RAM: 4x4 G.Skill Ripjaws X @ 1600 - GPU: Dual PowerColour R9 290- SSD: Samsung NVME SM951 256GB-- PSU: Corsair RM 1000  - Case: NZXT H440 Black/red - Keyboard: Coolermaster CM storm Quickfire TK, Cherry MX blues - Mouse: Logitech G502 - Heaphones: Beyerdynamic DT 770 - Monitors: 3x VE248H Eyefinity 1080P -  Phone: iPhone 6S Plus               Please post your specifications in your post, signature or even better, system page on your profile!