CISCO CCNA? (U.K)

johnmhigh
Go to solution Solved by Lurick,
6 minutes ago, johnmhigh said:

Well CCNP isn't something I've thought about, yet. I'll be studying part time as I currently work in a warehouse full time so I can't go to actually university to do the course and have to take it from home. If I went into the I.T field with just CCNA would it more than likely be just a helpdesk jobs taking calls and troubleshooting?

Thanks

With just a CCNA, yah, probably something along those lines, but that's also a good way to get some hands experience too. You would probably be Tier 1 support in a NOC or something which is a good way to get your foot in the door too and if you're lucky, the company might pay for you to get more certs and whatnot along the way.

Hi, i'm currently looking in to taking the CISCO CCNA course on the open university (U.K) but i have two concerns. 

Firstly, there is only two class room days where u get hands on with some networking equipment, the rest is all theory. How much of a disadvantage would this be?

Secondly, If all goes well and i get my CCNA, this would be my only I.T related qualification, ive noticed a lot of networking jobs ask for training in other areas apart from CCNA such as virtualization, juniper etc. Whats the chances of getting into the I.T field with just the CCNA to my name.

I do realize this is a broad question but would still hugely appreciate any advice. Thanks.

A lot of CCNA, last I was studying it at least, is about introducing you to the basics and getting you familiar with terminology and theory. Once you get into CCNP studies is when you start to apply that knowledge in a more practical manner and see a lot more hands on labs.

Current Network Layout:

Current Build Log/PC:

Prior Build Log/PC: