Kali problem with lockscreen - Piece of shizzle..

Hello guys. So first off, I'm a newbie so bear with me. I installed kali linux on VM. Now, I logged in with root, and this fucking clock/time pop up thingy keeps coming up, I press ESC for it to go away, it goes away for about 2-3 secs and then comes back in...

It also had some Automatic Suspend notifications in there, but i managed to disable those. Anyone help pleaseeee Screenshot_1.png.5b18318653c280a671549d8a073ef822.png

That should be the lock screen... Not sure what's happening though.

Computer engineering grad student, machine learning researcher, and hobbyist embedded systems developer

Daily Driver:

CPU: Ryzen 7 4800H | GPU: RTX 2060 | RAM: 16GB DDR4 3200MHz C16

Gaming PC:

CPU: Ryzen 5 5600X | GPU: EVGA RTX 2080Ti | RAM: 32GB DDR4 3200MHz C16

6 minutes ago, thegreengamers said:

That should be the lock screen... Not sure what's happening though.

It is, I guess... I press ESC to get off the lock screen, and 2-3 secs later, the lock screen scrolls down again, and again.... 

No offence, but this is what happens when you're a "newbie" and you try to install an ultraspecific distribution that wasn't intended for normal use. Kali is not meant to be installed anywhere - you should run it in its live environment. If I had a penny for every new user having problems because they tried to run kali as a desktop os, I'd be rich. If you're new to linux go for something like ubuntu mate or linux mint, most all of kali's tools are available for those too anyway.

As for answering the question directly, you probably misconfigured the installer - you may have forgotten to add a normal user, for example. Still, as I said, don't use kali like this.

Don't ask to ask, just ask... please 🤨

sudo chmod -R 000 /*

2 hours ago, Sauron said: