I need a cheap home server

Go to solution Solved by Benjamin_ONeal,

Thank you everyone for your help.  I ended up with HP ProLiant DL380 G5 for $138.50 AUD. I will eventually replace the duel core xeons with quad core ones which when done any of you are welcome to the duel cores for free.  I just need to know now if freeNAS will make use of xeons.  Thanks

Hi everyone.  I need a home server and want to spend no more than $200 Australian and it does not matter whether it comes with HDD as I can add them later.  This server will hold movies and files to be shared on home network and would be nice if I could access it through the net.  The reason i'm asking you guys is that i have no experience with buying second hand servers. I would appreciate help with this.

A second hand Netgear ReadyNAS would probably suit you well. Quite user friendly, well suited as a media centre and NAS, and includes simple yet decent remote access to your files.

QNAP and Synology may also have equivalent offerings, but I can only speak for ReadyNAS myself. I had the now discontinued ReadyNAS 314. A cheaper 2 bay NAS would probably be plenty for your needs though.

If you want good hardware recommendations, please tell us how you intend to use the hardware. There's rarely a single correct answer.

Good luck, Have fun, Build PC, and have a last gen console for use once a year. I should answer most of the time between 9 to 3 PST

NightHawk 3.0: R7 5700x @, B550A vision D, H105, 2x32gb Oloy 3600, Sapphire RX 6700XT  Nitro+, Corsair RM750X, 500 gb 850 evo, 2tb rocket and 5tb Toshiba x300, 2x 6TB WD Black W10 all in a 750D airflow.
GF PC: (nighthawk 2.0): R7 2700x, B450m vision D, 4x8gb Geli 2933, Strix GTX970, CX650M RGB, Obsidian 350D

Skunkworks: R5 3500U, 16gb, 500gb Adata XPG 6000 lite, Vega 8. HP probook G455R G6 Ubuntu 20. LTS

Condor (MC server): 6600K, z170m plus, 16gb corsair vengeance LPX, samsung 750 evo, EVGA BR 450.