Need help controlling CPU Fan Speed!

Go to solution Solved by MrMarriarty,
2 minutes ago, mrconflicted said:

But the actual fans are definitely running at a high RPM, they are quite loud. 

hum

ok well if thats the case then the only way i can think of of would be to use a separate fan controller but if you dont turn them up when it gets hot you may cause damage.

Try another fan header on the mobo?

Hi all,

I'm new to PC building and was able to build a system from an assortment of used and new parts. I have a Gigabyte GA0970-D3 motherboard and Corsair H100 cooler. With this combo, my CPU temps never get high at all. (Like, I'd be lucky to top 50C with a synthetic benchmark.

The problem is that no matter what, my CPU fans are at 99% PWM as seen in hardware monitor (or other programs). Things I've tried:

• BIOS Smart fan control. Tested both with and without, and see absolutely no difference.
  • Changing the H100's fan speed button - no difference
  • EasyTune6 from Gigabyte - I get a "driver release to failure" and can't seem to work around it. Probably 10 hours invested in that program alone..
  • Installing the factory CPU cooler, same problem, max fan speed.

Can I circumvent this with a manual fan controller? It's annoying to have my fans whirring at 2000 RPM all the time. FWIW, using a Phanteks P400S and Corsair SP120 fans.

Thanks in advance!

example problem.PNG

1 minute ago, mrconflicted said:

Hi all,

I'm new to PC building and was able to build a system from an assortment of used and new parts. I have a Gigabyte GA0970-D3 motherboard and Corsair H100 cooler. With this combo, my CPU temps never get high at all. (Like, I'd be lucky to top 50C with a synthetic benchmark.

The problem is that no matter what, my CPU fans are at 99% PWM as seen in hardware monitor (or other programs). Things I've tried:

• BIOS Smart fan control. Tested both with and without, and see absolutely no difference.
  • Changing the H100's fan speed button - no difference