Need help installing plex on freeNAS

Hulkbert

I'm having trouble putting content onto plex. I set up a windows share, put movies onto that, and got plex running through creating a jail and installing it through the shell. However my media doesn't show up in plex. I assume I messed something up in the installation process. Also, if plex just doesn't work on freeNAS, are there any alternatives?

18 minutes ago, Being Delirious said:

Yeah, Linux server

So I take it that plex doesn't work on freenas? I'm new to linux so I don't understand what to do from here.

47 minutes ago, Hulkbert said:

I'm having trouble putting content onto plex. I set up a windows share, put movies onto that, and got plex running through creating a jail and installing it through the shell. However my media doesn't show up in plex. I assume I messed something up in the installation process. Also, if plex just doesn't work on freeNAS, are there any alternatives?

Okay so you need to mount the location of your media into the Jail.

By default, the Jail is treated as a separate system. That means it has no read-access to the rest of the drive that FreeNAS is installed on.

Here's the relevant section of the FreeNAS user manual:

http://doc.freenas.org/9.10/jails.html#add-storage

That's for 9.10, but the instructions should be pretty similar for 11.x as well.

Once you have the folder or drive mounted to the Jail that contains the media, you need to go into the Plex Web UI, and add library locations for each media type you want to use (Eg: TV, Movies, etc), and select the specific folder necessary. This actually tells Plex where your media is stored, and tells it to scan the folders looking for media files.

For Sale: Meraki Bundle

iPhone Xr 128 GB Product Red - HP Spectre x360 13" (i5 - 8 GB RAM - 256 GB SSD) - HP ZBook 15v G5 15" (i7-8850H - 16 GB RAM - 512 GB SSD - NVIDIA Quadro P600)

30 minutes ago, Hulkbert said: